Soundtracks

#1 by Erik Schoolcraft , Tue Dec 17, 2019 5:30 am

So my questions. I've been doing this for 30 years now and have seen something odd finally. I recieved a film from a collector on another forum which had an odd intro tag. The film was faded Eastman as was the tag but the feature was presented in 4:3 with a single line variable area sountrack still dark (the sound area) and sounded very well. The tag (I guess I should say logo) into was faded red 20th centuaryFox but the soundtrack was printed in Variable Density and also faded as badly as the image. I thought the logo may be a dupe tacked onto the feature since it was spliced in but I haven't seen a color variable denstity soundtrack fade like this since the image is so clear. Was told a few years ago that the sound area on 16mm is treated differently than the image area but not sure if that is true or not. It's been my ecperience over the years that even when a film fades the soundtrack usually stays pretty stable if lab printed.
Was wondering if anyone else has seen this? I do have current prints in variable density that are printed using a blended color and black process which produce pretty good sound but this little logo has me curious.

Erik Schoolcraft  
Erik Schoolcraft
Date registered 08.16.2018
ThankYou 18

RE: Soundtracks

#2 by Greg Perry , Tue Dec 17, 2019 1:45 pm

Erik,

I am unable to help answer your very interesting question; any chance you could share an image of the film frame and soundtrack here?

Greg Perry
Date registered 07.07.2017
home: Minnesota USA
ThankYou 358

#3 by Maurice Leakey , Tue Dec 17, 2019 6:12 pm

Wenn Sie hier auf Links zu eBay klicken und einen Kauf tätigen, kann dies dazu führen, dass diese Website eine Provision erhält.

A few months ago I bought a 16mm black & white feature on eBay. The seller said they had no 16mm projector so it was buy as seen and no return.