“Is 16mm new”??

#1 by Gwyn Morgan , Mon Jun 17, 2019 10:25 pm

Today I had an interesting conversation.I had occasion to ring PayPal regarding an issue concerning a 16mm film.Having sorted the issue was about to put phone down whe the conversation went something like this.....
PayPal man”I-see the item we were discussing was a 16mm film is the projectors for this film something new,where do you get the films?
Me” No the the films and projectors have been around for a while now in fact years back to early last century “
PP Man” oh I was a trainee projectionist for Ciniworld I was learning the 35mm projectors bit when they went digital and sacked me.I saw
your film and was wondering what this 16mm film was nobody ever told me about it”
I then spent a few minutes enlightening the young man to this strange hobby and he says he is going to look into it.Maybe a convert away from the dark side into the light.
Strange who you end up on the phone to.......

Looking for Reel1 “SERPICO”

The following members like this: Greg Perry, Don Cunningham, David Alligan and Del Phillipson

Gwyn Morgan
Date registered 08.03.2015
home: Devon
ThankYou 275

RE: “Is 16mm new”??

#2 by Tom Photiou , Mon Jun 17, 2019 10:33 pm

Blimy, i would have thought that person would have had an idea. I keep forgetting how people half my age have absolutely no idea at all what a real film or projector is.

The following members like this: Gwyn Morgan, Greg Perry, Don Cunningham and David Alligan

Tom Photiou
Date registered 08.14.2015
home: Plymouth. UK
ThankYou 550

#3 by Maurice Leakey , Tue Jun 18, 2019 9:44 am

When I worked in 35mm cinemas my fellow projectionists thought it quite amusing that I would be going home to use my 16mm equipment.

The following members like this: Gwyn Morgan and Greg Perry
Maurice Leakey  
Maurice Leakey
Date registered 07.08.2017
home: Bristol, United Kingdom
ThankYou 221

#4 by Don Cunningham , Wed Jun 19, 2019 2:23 pm