Question on Extreme Wide Angle Lens on Projector

#1 by Ian Partridge , Thu Jun 07, 2018 10:47 am

In 2016 I projected the16mm original cutting copy/work print of the late Walter Lassally's 'first documentary: Smith Our Friend' Shown for the first time in 70 years. https://ian-partridge.com/smith_our_friend.html

Future showings will have to be projected in another, off-topic, way because of the extreme fragility of the original (its an "art" film with many quick cuts and cement joins). New photo-chemical print out of my budget and I am not sure there is any laboratory left that contact prints black & white 16mm.

I have no knowledge of digital projectors but I had the chance to buy one from a recycling warehouse. It had been ceiling mounted so the Optoma model number was hidden by the bracket. Only a handful of hours use and lamp was new with no spots on the image and it had hdmi input suitable for next time projecting my hd transfer of 'Smith Our Friend.'

Here are my questions: The only manual lens adjustment was for focus and the throw was extremely short distance - a huge picture within four or five feet? The lens had no adjustment for picture size? The menu settings did not have any zoom facility. Was it made for something like a golf swing back projection or similar?

Finally, can I easily swap the unwanted fisheye lens assembly for another projector lens assembly that has a long throw?

Ian

Ian Partridge
Date registered 08.18.2015
home: Colchester, Essex. United Kingdom
ThankYou 16

RE: Question on Extreme Wide Angle Lens on Projector

#2 by Martin Dew , Thu Jun 07, 2018 11:54 am

Ian, I've just re-edited my message here as our moderators are rightly quite strict about promoting non-film topics, so I'd be happy to take this offline if I can be of help.

Robert Crewdson likes this
Ian Partridge sais Thank You!

Martin Dew
Date registered 10.07.2016
home: Henley-on-Thames
ThankYou 94

Last edited 06.07.2018 | Top