I literally blew it

#1 by Eivind Mork , Mon Feb 19, 2018 8:37 pm

I have had quite a bit of problems with my Elmo 16CL. The exciter lamp is mostly not on. Sometimes, for no obvious reason it lights, and then it is off again. I have used a multi meter and checked the fuse, the socket and the lamp. All seems fine.

In the end I had it and thought I would just hard wire it on no matter if the switch was on or not. The lamp says 4V 0.75A. I measured 4.4V at the fuse marked exciter. Stupid me thought that might be the same. I hard wired and POOF. Bright light, ptich dark.

When I got to think about it, it hardly lights when it is normally on, and I suspect the lamp can be much brighter. So I have two possible explanations:
1. It should have a lower voltage, and I hard wired at the wrong place.
2. I should have had a resistor too,

Have any of you any clue? I tried to read the schematics on the repair manual, but I am not good at this:
https://issuu.com/filmmaker8.com/docs/el...-service-manual

Any help would be appreciated!

Eivind Mork
Date registered 10.12.2015
home: Oslo, Norway
ThankYou 405

RE: I literally blew it

#2 by Andrew Woodcock ( deleted ) , Mon Feb 19, 2018 8:55 pm

I'd have to see the electrical schematic to be certain to know what you've done here Eivind but either way, clearly some important circuitry has been bypassed.

There cannot be too much in this circuit to make your exciter lamp intermittent so the good news is once the problem joint or component is found, all should be fine again, including the switch circuit.

"C'Mon Baggy, Get With The Beat"

Andrew Woodcock
Last edited Mon Feb 19, 2018 11:19 pm | Top

#3 by Eivind Mork , Mon Feb 19, 2018 9:15 pm

Thanks for the reply Andrew. I don't expect you you to dig into the schematics, but if you are curious you can find it here:
http://www.acofs.org.au/part_5_files/Elmo/Tech%2016%20CL.pdf