Blue Thunder

#1 by Tony Charles , Tue Nov 10, 2020 4:18 pm

I recently viewed my flat print of Blue Thunder with a buddy. It has stunning color and sharpness and the movie was much better than I remembered it. We both felt it really took you into the action and I commented that it would hold up as a good action movie in a theater today. I stumbled upon Tom Photiou's review of his print and it must be the same film stock he has. Tom has called this an AGFA print and a polyester print. It would not play on my Kodak Pageant projector (I have several prints which won't play on this favorite projector). They must be polyester or mylar prints. But the print plays very well on my Kalart/Victor Easy-Load projector. I would like to know more about these polyester or mylar prints if anyone has that knowledge. Why are they low fade and why are they hard to play on some projectors. I have been collecting 16mm prints for many years and never see Blue Thunder offered (I got it in a trade many years ago).

The following members like this: Gwyn Morgan, Robert Crewdson and Tom Photiou
Tony Charles  
Tony Charles
Date registered 11.06.2020
ThankYou 1

RE: Blue Thunder

#2 by Greg Perry , Tue Nov 10, 2020 5:00 pm

Hi Tony,

I don't have an answer for your question on poly/Mylar prints and the Kodak Pageant, but I am sure someone else here will offer some thoughts.
Blue Thunder is a good one and I think collectors hold on to these titles for many years--which may be one reason why we do not see them for listed for sale much!

Robert Crewdson likes this

Greg Perry
Date registered 07.07.2017
home: Minnesota USA
ThankYou 358

#3 by Tony Charles , Tue Nov 10, 2020 6:26 pm

Thank you Greg. Yes, after watching it again, I would not be interested in selling or trading it either. It's one of my best, and most recent, 16mm prints. They didn't make many after that.

Tony Charles  
Tony Charles
ThankYou 1

#4 by Tom Photiou , Tue Nov 10, 2020 8:00 pm