Siemens 2000 16 mm Projector and Amplifier - Quality Opinions

#1 by Joseph Billings , Wed Oct 14, 2020 3:55 am

Does anyone have any experience with the Siemens 2000 16 mm Projector and Amplifier? It looks like a fine machine in photographs. I am curious how it compares to other 16 mm projectors e.g. the Elmo CL and Kodak Pageant. I have no experience at all with these machines, and I am actually awaiting the arrival of my first --the Elmo Cl. Thank you!

Joseph Billings  
Joseph Billings
Date registered 10.12.2020

RE: Siemens 2000 16 mm Projector and Amplifier - Quality Opinions

#2 by Maurice Leakey , Wed Oct 14, 2020 9:47 am

Joseph

The Siemens 2000 was very much a professional model with quite a few variants, beautifully made and very heavy. If you can find one in fully working order it might be a great machine to own. But for normal use it may not be suitable, probably more for a static installation.

I have a Kodak Pageant and an Elmo 16-CL. Both very nice projectors, the Kodak takes more time to set up as it has a separate external loud speaker. The Elmo is a much more useful projector as it is a one-piece unit with a built-in loud speaker. Also, as it is a slot-loader, the threading is very quick, and it also has the advantage of being able to remove a part run film in an instant. It can also rewind through the projector.

Hope you enjoy your Elmo.

Maurice

The following members like this: Martin Dew and Greg Perry
Maurice Leakey  
Maurice Leakey
Date registered 07.08.2017
home: Bristol, United Kingdom
ThankYou 221

#3 by Joseph Billings , Fri Oct 16, 2020 6:51 am

Maurice,

Thank you for the reply. Why do you think that the Siemens would not be suitable? Do you mean primarily because it is heavy? I am most interested in brightness, rock steady image, and noise --apart from over all quality (reliability and gentle on film) of course. Regards, Joe

Joseph Billings  
Joseph Billings
Date registered 10.12.2020