Projector Buying Advice

#1 by David Ferguson , Tue Aug 13, 2019 4:24 pm

Hi all,

I'm rather new to 35mm - I've got a couple of super 8mm projectors which I occasionally use for showing family films, and the rare feature. I'm wanting to get a 35mm projector and am looking for a bit of advice regarding prices. My first port of call for buying anything is always ebay, however I'm aware that ebay prices (especially for oddities such as film and projectors) can be a bit mad, but for me just starting out I'm not sure what's mad and what's reasonable!

So my question is: how much is a "good"/reasonable price for a working 35mm projector? I'm looking more at the more "modern" stuff - Kinotons in particular as I've heard they are reliable and kind on film. The one I'm looking at at the moment is a FP23, which is the portable once (which suits me as I don't have that much space!), so if you've bought/sold/seen one for sale recently, I'd be very interested to know the price.

Thanks!
David

David Ferguson  
David Ferguson
Date registered 08.13.2019
home: Edinburgh, United Kingdom

RE: Projector Buying Advice

#2 by Vidar Olavesen , Tue Aug 13, 2019 4:52 pm

You can buy brand new ones here. Cost a bit, but I reallywould love to own a portable one someday
http://www.cinemec.it/prodotti.html?fbcl...t3JWrWj1xNqNEFg

Vidar Olavesen
Date registered 08.02.2015
home: Sarpsborg, Norway
ThankYou 348

Last edited 08.13.2019 | Top

#3 by Tomek Lecocq , Wed Nov 27, 2019 12:20 am

Because most of the cinemas used the "bulkier", non-portable ones, and collectors prefer portable 35mm projectors, normal projectors are very cheap. In contrast portable projectors still retain some of their original value.

In Europe you can get a used non-portable projector with the lamphouse, lenses and various accessories for around 300-600€ (depending on what's included).