Modified 35mm Sound Heads

#1 by Ian Partridge , Thu Mar 17, 2016 12:10 pm

I am familiar with optical sound with exciter lamp and photo electric cell systems, however I am new to the red laser? mirror and photo diode sytem found on 35mm sound heads.

What is "Solar cell"

Is this a red light system?

Ian

Ian Partridge
Date registered 08.18.2015
home: Colchester, Essex. United Kingdom
ThankYou 16

RE: Modified 35mm Sound Heads

#2 by Deleted User , Thu Mar 17, 2016 2:02 pm

Ian,
Solar cell is not a red laser (led) system.
They were used on the Philips DP 75 projector in the 70's .
Basically does the same function as the photo electric cell
In converting the light from the soundtrack into sound.
Also there's stereo solar cells for Dolby Stereo sound.

Regards
Tony

Tony Laing

Last edited Thu Mar 17, 2016 2:20 pm | Top

RE: Modified 35mm Sound Heads

#3 by Hugh Thompson Scott ( deleted ) , Fri Mar 18, 2016 12:54 am

Ian, apart from the excellent information imparted by Tony but my faux pas on missing out Gwyn, this poor bugger is still in harness,I apologise to all you 35mm men,
I am still a little lad in the minor stuff

Hugh Thompson Scott

RE: Modified 35mm Sound On Portacine 35 ?

#4 by Ian Partridge , Fri Mar 18, 2016 3:36 am

Many thanks. I believe I will receive friendly advice here in my quest to sort out the sound on a Cinemeccanica Portacine 35.

It seems that fitting an original Portacine built-in amplifier may not be the answer if the sound head has been upgraded to something different?

I will upload some pictures of the sound head.

Ian

Ian Partridge
ThankYou 16

#5 by Gwyn Morgan , Fri Mar 18, 2016 9:45 am

Ian ,I assume that the projector has been with a red LED for reading cyan tracks as well as the older stereo tracks.