Youtube Projector Videos

#1 by Thomas Peters , Fri Dec 01, 2023 12:27 am

Ever watch Youtube Projector Videos? Maybe 10% of them are worthwhile. Most "repair" videos are made by clowns who even admit they never tried it before. One guy had a tutorial on replacing Elmo ST-1200 belts, and he put them on wrong! He figure-eighted them for some reason.

I love the ones where some guy says, "Look what I just picked up for $10 at a flea market!" Then they go on to talk about how "retro" and "cool" it is, and act like it is so rare an unusual. Then they fumble as they try to use it, call the reels "wheels" etc, and their biggest complaint once they figure out how to get it to work and thread is that the film doesn't always catch on the take-up reel!

Maybe because I've been using projectors constantly for 50 years, I just can't understand other people's misconceptions. Film and projectors are in my blood.

Thomas Peters  
Thomas Peters
Date registered 08.30.2022
ThankYou 9

Last edited 12.01.2023 | Top

RE: Youtube Projector Videos

#2 by Greg Perry , Fri Dec 01, 2023 1:50 am

Hi Thomas,

Like most everything on youtube, some videos are hit and miss. I reference youtube often for car repair tutorials. Some are very well done, others are really worthless. I will at least acknowledge a bit of interest in old school film projection within these somewhat ignorant clowns. The good videos are few and far between as you too have noticed.

Thomas Peters likes this

Greg Perry
Date registered 07.07.2017
home: Minnesota USA
ThankYou 358

#3 by Tom Photiou , Sat Dec 02, 2023 7:56 pm

There are some funny ones on there thats for sure, a few on there are there are ok and clearly done by a few who know but youtube certainly lacks anything of value for servicing.
Considering how many so called experts there are one other channels, they dont seem like to share worthy knowledge.

Thomas Peters likes this

Tom Photiou
Date registered 08.14.2015
home: Plymouth. UK
ThankYou 548